Go to eugreenalliance

University Board

Under the Higher Education Act and the Higher Education Ordinance, the University of Gävle has a board with the overall responsibility for the activities of the University

Structure and Assignment of the Board

Acting under the authority of the University Board, the Vice-Chancellor exercises operational leadership. The University Board and the Vice-Chancellor together constitute the highest management of the University – the higher education management.

Apart from the Vice-Chancellor, the University Board consists of

  • eight external members appointed by the Swedish government
  • three representatives appointed by the academic staff at the University of Gävle
  • three student representatives appointed by Gefle Student Union.



Ylva Fältholm.

Ylva Fältholm
Vice-Chancellor, professor
University of Gävle

Members appointed by the Swedish Government

Stephen Hwang.


Stephen Hwang
Former Vice-Chancellor, Linnaeus University

Susanna Stymne Airey.


Susanna Stymne Airey
Head of business area prevent, AFA försäkringar

Pierre Aggarwal.

Pierre Aggarwal
Mill Director Gävle at BillerudKorsnäs

Susanna Axelsson.

Susanna Axelsson
Docent and former director general SBU

Samuel Bengmark.

Samuel Bengmark
Assistant professor, Chalmers

Björn Halleröd.

Björn Halleröd

Hanna Meuser.

Hanna Meuser
Manager Recruitment & Employer Branding, Sandvik

Katrien Vanhaverbeke.

Katrien Vanhaverbeke
Regional Development Director

Members appointed by members of Lecturers

Silvia Edling.

Silvia Edling
University of Gävle

Lars Löfqvist.

Lars Löfqvist
Lecturer University of Gävle

Annika Nilsson.

Annika Nilsson
Professor University of Gävle

Members appointed by Gefle Student Union

Nikolai Kronmann.

Nikolai Kronmann
Chair of Gefle Student Union

Joel Öman Adsjö.

Joel Öman Adsjö
Vice Chair of Gefle Student Union

Joel Öman Adsjö.

Åsa Hedlund
PhD student

Board meetings

16 February
20 April
14–15 June
11 October
13 December

15 February
18 April
13 June
16–17 October
12 December



Iza Ullmark
Telephone: +46 26-64 87 21
E-mail: hogskolestyrelsen@hig.se

Published by: Veronica Liljeroth Page responsible: Veronica Liljeroth Updated: 2023-11-24
Högskolan i Gävle
Box 801 76 GÄVLE
026-64 85 00 (växel)