SEEDS

The research group SEEDS (Studies in Education for Equity, Democracy and Sustainability) studies how educational processes and policies are motivated, shaped, told and retold in text and practice with a special focus on democracy, equity, power and ethics. Questions relating to the circumstances of individuals and groups, learning conditions, the teaching profession, assessment practices and subject structures are highlighted, because they are regarded as important dimensions for promoting social sustainability in learning environments and educational practices in general.

The aim of the SEEDS research group is to investigate education and learning environments for social sustainability in different areas and at different levels. The relations between the variability and stability of education and the learning environment in practice, policy and/or research are illustrated by an openness to multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary approaches. An important starting point is that all practice is based on ideas that are important to make visible and that relate to people's own circumstances.

SEEDS includes researchers in the fields of pedagogy, didactics/curriculum studies, special education, the humanities, criminology and health education who are involved in research projects and studies relating to education and learning environments for social sustainability in different educational arenas. The group consists of professors, associate professors, lecturers, PhD students and a number of associated national and international members.

Examples of research areas

  • The school’s and university’s democratic and equality work
  • Subject constructions in general
  • The interplay between social and cultural equity in different learning environments
  • Sustainability in higher education
  • The importance of language for interpreting and critical thinking in education
  • When, where, how and why relations are created and maintained that contribute to safer and equivalent learning environments
  • How different kinds of violence, such as bullying and discrimination, can be understood and counteracted in education from a holistic perspective
  • How power appears and is manifested in fictional and factual narratives with a focus on education and learning environments
  • Teachers’ and teacher educators’ professionalism in relation to democracy, knowledge and equality
  • Policy implications for educational work directed at vulnerable children’s groups
  • Inclusive and exclusive practices in the educational system in both national and international contexts
  • Educational policies for sustainable development, equivalence, equal opportunities, inclusion and equity
  • Intertextual, comparative and international policy analyses with a focus on equity and democracy
  • Study and career guidance on equity
  • Comparative studies on extreme right-wing parties’ educational policy and the consequences for education, teaching and learning
  • Studies of assessment practices and their different consequences
  • Knowledge production in the intersection between society and the scientific community

Steering group

Silvia Edling, professor in curriculum studies, silvia.edling@hig.se

Guadalupe Francia, professor in pedagogy, guadalupe.francia@hig.se

Contact

Members

Sarah Ljungquist, senior lecturer in the Swedish language and gender reserarch, sarah.ljungquist@hig.se

External projects

Other

NordSTEP Nordic Journal of Studies in Educational Policy

Research coverage regarding Equity: Skolverket rörande likvärdighet och utbildning

Research coverage: UNESCO

Associate members

Marie Parker-Jenkins, professor in education, Limerick University

E-mail:marie.parker.jenkins@ul.ie

Ana Ancheta Arrabal, University of Valencia

E-mail: ana.ancheta@uv.es

Marco Catarci, professor in education, University Degli Study Roma

E-mail: marco.catarci@uniroma3.it

Carolyn, Shields, professor in education and leadership, Wayne State University,

E-mail: cshields@wayne.edu

Cendel, Karaman, associate professor in education, Middle east technical university, Turkey
E-mail: cendel@metu.edu.tr

Elisabetta, Biffi, Associate professor in education, University of Milan Biccoca, Italy
E-mail: elisabetta.biffi@unimib.it

Geraldine, Mooney Simmie, Associate profesor, University of Limerick, Ireland

E-mail: geraldine.mooney.simmie@ul.ie

Jason, Dorio, Ph.D. and lecturer in international and comparative education, UCLA, USA
E-mail: jndorio@ucla.edu

My, Lilja, lektor i kriminologi
E-mail: my.lilja@mao.se

Todd, Price, professor in teaching and learning, National Louis University, USA,
E-mail: TPrice@nl.edu

Sheila, Macrine, professor in education, University of Massachusetts Boston, USA

E-mail: smacrine@umassd.edu

Hillevi, Lenz Taguchi, professor i barn och ungdomsvetenskap, Stockholms Universitet

E-mail: hillevi.lenz-taguchi@buv.su.se

SEEDS in social media

  •  
Published by: Sara Perttunen Sundberg Page responsible: Camilla Niss Updated: 2021-02-22
Högskolan i Gävle
www.hig.se
Box 801 76 GÄVLE
026-64 85 00 (växel)